​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​AHCA/NCAL remains steadfast in supporting long term care centers in continuing to improve the quality of care provided to residents. By connecting providers to valuable resources and developing innovative solutions for stakeholders, AHCA/NCAL aims to improve lives by delivering solutions to ​advance the sector's quality of care.

 Untitled ‭[3]‬

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Untitled ‭[1]‬

 Other Awards & Recognition Programs

AHCA/NCAL has a number of recognition programs and awards honoring member providers and long term care professionals that portray excellence in the sector and have made an impact in skilled nursing, assisted living communities​ and intellectual and developmental disabilities communities. Learn more about each of our programs below.

  • AHCA Awards Program honors individuals who are dedicated to improving the quality of lives of residents and their surrounding communities​
  • NCAL Awards Program recognizes assisted living employees who demonstrate exemplary work within the profession
  • Jan Thayer Pioneer Award recognizes an individual in assisted living who has moved the senior care profession forward
  • Mary K. Ousley Champion of Quality Award​ recognizes an individual that has made significant national contributions to advancing quality performance​

 Five-Star Quality Rating System

The Five-Star Quality Rating System is a tool to help consumers select and compare skilled nursing care centers. Created by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 2008, the rating system uses information from Health Care Surveys (both standard and complaint), Quality Measures, and Staffing. CMS's Nursing Home Compare website features the rating system. ​Learn more​.

 SNF Quality Reporting Program

Skilled nursing care centers must report data to CMS for the SNF Quality Reporting Program (QRP) required under the Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation (IMPACT) Act of 2014. Learn more​.

 Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI)

Current regulation requires all skilled nursing centers to develop a Quality Assurance and Performance Improvement (QAPI) program. ​AHCA offers its members free tools, resources, webinars and programs to assist developing and sustaining an effective and comprehensive QAPI program in their centers. ​Learn more​.

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Featured Video